Hotel of Estienne-of-Saint-Jean
Construction and originsThe hotel of Estienne-of-Saint-Jean was built in the neighborhoods of 1671, seems it by Pierre Puget to which one allots also the hotel of Éguilles and the hotel of Grimaldi-Régusse.
It owes its name in François d' Estienne, lord of Montfuron and Saint-Jean-of-the-Room who lived it before installation. Under the League, of Estienne, which claimed Protestantisme, had taken party for Henri III, then for Henri IV, which was worth to him to be constrained to flee Aix.
In 1664, the descendants of Estienne become of Martigny and at this point in time Joseph de Martigny in is owner that Pierre Puget carries out the design of it.
Description of the buildingThe frontage with Pilastre S grooved and capital X Corinthian gives esthetism to a severe and sober wall. The current door dates from the 18th century. It is surmounted by a Fronton.
The first element which strikes, inside, is the Escalier and its wrought iron slope of Style Louis XIV. A sober hall led there, surmounted by a broad arc in handle of basket. To the ground floor, the Coupole painted of a charming boudoir is allotted to the workshop of the painter Jean Daret (towards 1675). One notices there loves carrying of the baskets of flowers. At side, a small part, which could have been a bathroom, has a Carrelage in old man-Naples. In the staircase throne a bust of Louis XIV.
Thanks to the establishment of the museum of Old-Aix, the hotel of Estienne-of-Saint-Jean kept a good part of his decoration and its furniture of antan.
- Evocation of old Aix , Andre Bouyala-with Arnaud, 1964.
- the Guide of Aix-en-Provence and the country of Aix , to dir. No5el Coulet, 1988.
|Random links:||DEMONSTRATIONS | Yermolaïev Yer-2 | Theorem of unicity of Stokes | Montmorency-Charlevoix-High-Coast-north | Ambrosini F.4 Rondone | James_Luceno|